Jump ahead in this article:
- How do I connect my Facebook account to Mixcloud Live?
- How do I connect my Twitch account to Mixcloud Live?
- What does the preview look like?
- Who will see my stream preview?
- I want to change who can see the stream preview on Facebook
- Do I have to connect to a platform every time I go live?
- Will unlisted streams be streamed to other platforms?
You can tell your community you’re live by sharing a live preview of the stream's video on your social channels. Here's how:
If you visit https://www.mixcloud.com/live/new/, you'll the option to connect platforms in the Promote stream section at the bottom of the page:
How do I connect my Facebook account to Mixcloud Live?
If you click 'Enable', you’ll see an overlay that will guide you through connecting your Facebook account. Simply hit 'Connect to Facebook' and follow the instructions.
❕In case you're logged into Facebook from the same browser, please make sure it is the same Facebook account you wish to share the stream from. If not, log out of Facebook separately and log back in using the correct Facebook account.
Once your Facebook account has been connected successfully, you'll see the profiles and pages where you can promote your stream. Select the ones you'd like to stream to and save the changes.
Once Facebook has been connected, it'll show as enabled on Mixcloud.
How do I connect my Twitch account to Mixcloud Live?
- To connect to Twitch, you'll need your Twitch stream key. This can be found here.
- Once you have your Twitch stream key, click 'Enable' under the Twitch logo on Mixcloud Live.
- Paste the Twitch stream key into the field.
- Click 'Enable'.
Once Twitch has been connected, it'll show as enabled on Mixcloud.
What does the preview look like?
Once you start streaming on Mixcloud, a live stream preview will be sent to the enabled platforms. The preview will have no sound and show your video, your Mixcloud username and the link directing to your stream.
The name and description will be set by each platform, not by Mixcloud. It'll contain a link to your Mixcloud stream and ensure that your fans can conveniently come to Mixcloud.
Who will see my stream preview?
On Twitch, your stream preview will be seen by everyone.
On Facebook, this will depend on your settings. When you're connecting to Facebook, you'll see a prompt asking you if you'd like Mixcloud posts to your timeline to be visible to only you, only your friends or everyone. This choice will determine who can see the stream preview.
I want to change who can see the stream preview on Facebook
If you need to change who's able to see the stream preview on Facebook, you'll first need to disconnect Mixcloud Live from Facebook here. Click 'View and edit' next to Mixcloud and follow the steps to remove the integration.
Alternatively, when you see the stream preview on Facebook, click the little toggle next to your username. You can then choose the audience for the post from the presented list.
Do I have to connect to a platform every time I go live?
No, you won’t have to connect to the platform every time you go live. However, you might have to validate the connection from time to time. See below for the differences between the channels:
- Facebook requires you to reconnect your account every 60 days.
- Twitch does not require you to re-enter the information as long as your stream key on the platform does not change and the channel shows as enabled.
Will unlisted streams be streamed to other platforms?
No, whenever you unlist a stream, we'll not promote your stream to other platforms. You can still share the link to your stream manually if you wish to let your community on other platforms know about your live stream. To find out more about unlisting shows on Mixcloud Live, read our article here.
If you need further assistance with promoting your stream or have any questions, please fill out this form and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.